Berlin Open Data Day 2018

The Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises/ Project Future invited on October 11th to join to the BODDy.

Berlin Open Data Day 2018

The theme of Berlin Open Data Day 2018 was ‘Creating added value with Open Data’. More than 150 participants from the Berlin Administration and Open Data Community came together to share experiences and build networks.

Initiated by the Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises, this year’s Berlin Open Data Day (BODDy) was held in cooperation with Fraunhofer FOKUS and the Competence Center Public IT on 11th October 2018.

Together with Sebastian Askar, head of the department for digitalisation, ICT economy and digital infrastructure at the Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises, Dr. Ina Schieferdecker, director of the Fraunhofer institute FOKUS, opened the BODDy with a brief review of their joint work in establishing the Open Data portal.

Prof. Dr. Ina Schieferdecker emphasised that, “In addition to transparency and participation, the added value of Open Data is to strengthen the economy through new or enhanced business opportunities. Opening the city for the use of Open Data is a crucial aspect for topics related to Smart City, developing business solutions, eGovernment services and other technological innovations in order to drive digital transformation in the city.”

State Secretary Christian Rickerts then presented the Open Data strategy developed by the State of Berlin. Over the past year, the administration has made substantial progress, covering in particular three fields:

  • further development of the legal framework for the provision and use of Open Data
  • improving the technical infrastructure for Open Data and
  • supporting the people who have made Open Data possible in the first place.

“Our aim is to further expand the data provided by the Berlin Administration. To achieve this, Open Data require disseminators. By organising the Berlin Open Data Day, we support the experts working in the Administration and encourage exchanges with the Open Data Community”, said Christian Rickerts.

After taking a look at the national level, Erwin Schwärzer, DGI head of section (Digital Society at the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community) followed with a keynote speech on the use of Open Data in the federal administration.

The Open Data Act was adopted at the federal level on 13th July 2017, with a central office for the coordination and support of Open Data at the federal level being established on 1st September 2018. In his speech, Erwin Schwärzer stressed the importance of Open Data saying, “The increased data availability can play an important role in the implementation of future topics such as artificial intelligence in a responsible manner.”

Dr. Jens Klessmann of Fraunhofer FOKUS showed a live demo of an Open Data staging tool for data processing and provision, analysing the tool’s functionality and quality.

The Open Data Information Point (ODIS) presented some of their Open Data application examples. ODIS is supported by the Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises via subsidies over a period of two years with the aim of supporting the Berlin Administration in opening and providing data. Victoria Dykes of ODIS spoke about the app and website on swimming areas in Berlin and hygienic assessment of the bathing water quality. These current measurements are Open Data, provided for example by the Regional Office for Health and Social Affairs (LaGeSo) on the one hand and safety-related data provided by the water utility company Berliner Wasserbetriebe on the other.

A further practical example is the visualization of data taken from the subsidy database provided by the Senate Department of Finance. ODIS will shortly launch an app that provides an overview of all subsidies, stating the annual amount and geographical distribution in the individual districts.

The highlight of the event was the presentation of the Best Practice Case Study given by Dr. Ulrike Huemer, CIO of the City of Vienna. She presented Vienna as a smart city with its digitalisation strategy “Wien digt anders vor”. With regard to digitalisation, Vienna is far ahead of other cities, and it has developed smart administration apps for its citizens. One app deals for example with the concern management the city’s inhabitants can use not only to report broken streetlights and garbage dumps in the city, but also track their complaint’s handling status.

Dr. Ulrike Huemer presented the “Vieanna Bot” – another example for digitalisation in the city of Vienna. This chatbot is able to answer the citizens’ questions to the administration.“Vieanna Bot” also uses Open Data and the aim is to develop it further by means of artificial intelligence.

One of the topics fiercely disputed at the panel discussion was the question ‘Open Data: A lucrative source of income or priceless common property?’ The focus of the debate was whether administrative data should be made freely available to everyone or rather sold as a business model.

For panellist Nicolas Zimmer, Chairman of Technologiestiftung Berlin, Open Data have become an integral part of our everyday work and administrations are required to provide their data to the general public as Open Data at no cost.

Freely available data are equally important for Ulli Stroetz, startup founder for Door2Door. This startup uses a variety of Open Data from the administration, edits them and makes them available to the general public, providing additional options for use.

Alexander Handschuh, representative for fundamental political issues at the German Association of Towns and Municipalities, took up a different position. In accordance with the principle of subsidiarity, each municipality ought to decide for itself on whether and what data they want to publish.

Dr. Tobias Knobloch, project manager for the “Algorithmen fürs Gemeinwohl” project initiated by Stiftung Neue Verantwortung e. V., supported a multi-stage model with free data on the one hand and data that the user pays for to benefit from high-quality and up-to-date provision on the other.

Dr. Ulrike Huemer, CIO of the City of Vienna, believes that all data that can be published should be made available to the general public as Open Data at no cost. She said further that it would be too complicated and expensive for the administration to prepare data in a way to sell them as part of a business model, which would require a payment system and billing procedures.

The programme continued after lunch with four parallel workshops the participants could choose from.

Another workshop led by Fraunhofer FOKUS institute discussed the frontend and backend aspects of Open Data portals.In his workshop, Dr. Benjamin Seibel of Technologiestiftung Berlin launched the new FixMyBerlin app containing data on bike traffic. He explained how an ecological traffic turn can be achieved using Open Data.

Walter Palmetshofer of Open Knowledge Foundation and Christian Jacob of Stromnetz Berlin presented energy data made available to the hackers on the occasion of EnergyHack.

The workshop led by Accenture, the City of Vienna and Berlin Partner discussed topics such as artificial intelligence, blockchain and their connection to Open Data.

Following the workshops, the participants had the opportunity to get together with coffee and cake and exchange opinions and draw final conclusions about a day entirely marked by Open Data.

 

Sebastian Askar
Sebastian Askar

Leitung Digitalisierung, IKT-Wirtschaft und digitale Infrastruktur

Email

Gallery

Berlin Open Data Day 2018

Die Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe/ Projekt Zukunft lud am 11. Oktober zum BODDy 2018 ein.

Berlin Open Data Day 2018

Initiiert von der Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe fand der diesjährige Berlin Open Data Day (BODDy) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer FOKUS und dem Kompetenzzentrum Öffentliche IT am 11. Oktober 2018 statt. Unter dem Motto „Mit offenen Daten Mehrwert gestalten“ trafen sich über 160 Gäste zum Networking der Berliner Verwaltung mit der Open Data Community.

Sebastian Askar, der Leiter der Digitalisierung, IKT-Wirtschaft und digitale Infrastruktur bei der Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe und Dr. Ina Schieferdecker, die Institutsleiterin des Fraunhofer FOKUS eröffneten den BODDy gemeinsam mit einem Rückblick auf die gemeinsame Zusammenarbeit beim Aufbau des Open Data Portals.

Prof. Dr. Ina Schieferdecker, die Institutsleiterin des Fraunhofer FOKUS, betont: „Der Mehrwert offener Daten besteht, neben Transparenz und Partizipation, in der Stärkung der Wirtschaft durch neue bzw. erweiterte Geschäftsmöglichkeiten. Die Öffnung der Stadt für Open Data ist ein wichtiger Aspekt für Smart City Themen, für die Weiterentwicklung von Lösungen für E-Government und andere technologische Innovationen, um den digitalen Wandel in der Stadt mit voranzutreiben.“

Anschließend stellte Staatssekretär Christian Rickerts die Open Data Strategie des Landes Berlin vor. Im vergangenen Jahr hat die Verwaltung viel erreicht und sich um drei Felder gekümmert: 

  • Weiterentwicklung des Rechtsrahmens für die Bereitstellung und Nutzung von offenen Daten
  • Verbesserung der technischen Infrastruktur für Open Data
  • Unterstützung der Menschen die Open Data erst möglich gemacht haben.

„Wir wollen das Datenangebot der Berliner Verwaltung noch stärker öffnen. Open Data braucht dafür Multiplikatorinnen und Multiplikatoren. Wir unterstützen durch den Berlin Open Data Day die Expertinnen und Experten in der Verwaltung und fördern den Austausch mit der Open Data Community“, so Staatssekretär Christian Rickerts.

Nach dem Blick auf die Landesebene folgte die Keynote zu Open Data in der Bundesverwaltung von Ministerialdirigent Erwin Schwärzer, Unterabteilungsleiter DGI – Digitale Gesellschaft vom Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat.

Auf Bundesebene wurde das Open Data Gesetz am 13.7.2017 verabschiedet und am 1.9.2018 eine zentrale Stelle zur Koordinierung und Unterstützung von Open Data auf der Bundesebene eingerichtet. „Die verbesserte Verfügbarkeit von Daten kann einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einer verantwortungsvollen Umsetzung von Zukunftsthemen wie Künstliche Intelligenz leisten“, so betonte Erwin Schwärzer die Wichtigkeit von Open Data in seinem Vortrag.

Dr. Jens Klessmann vom Fraunhofer FOKUS präsentierte eine Live Demo eines Open Data Staging Tools für die Datenaufbereitung und -bereitstellung mit einem Qualitätscheck.

Die Open Data Informationsstelle (ODIS), die von der Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe für zwei Jahre mit einer Zuwendung gefördert wird, um die Berliner Verwaltung bei der Öffnung und Bereitstellung der Daten zu unterstützen, stellte ihre Open Data Anwendungsbeispiele vor. So referierte Victoria Dykes von der ODIS über die App und die Webseite zu den Badestellen in Berlin und die hygienische Beurteilung der Badegewässerqualität. Bei diesen Daten handelt es sich um offene Daten beispielsweise von den aktuellen Messwerten des Landesamts für Umwelt und Soziales (LaGeSo) und zum anderen aber auch um sicherheitsrelevante Daten der Berliner Wasserbetriebe.

Ein weiteres Anwendungsbeispiel war die Visualisierung der Daten aus der Zuwendungsdatenbank von der Senatsverwaltung für Finanzen. Die ODIS wird demnächst eine App veröffentlichen, die einen Gesamtüberblick über alle Zuwendungen mit der jährlichen Summe und der räumlichen Verteilung der Förderprojekte in den einzelnen Bezirken darstellen wird.

Das Highlight der Veranstaltung stellte die Best Practice Case Study von Dr. Ulrike Huemer, CIO der Stadt Wien dar. Die Referentin stelle die Smart City Wien mit der Digitalisierungsstrategie unter dem Motto „Wien digt anders vor“. Die Stadt Wien ist, was die Digitalisierung angeht, anderen Städten weit voraus und hat smarte Verwaltungs-Apps für die Bürgerinnen und Bürger entwickelt. Zum Beispiel gibt es eine App für das Anliegenmanagement der Bürgerinnen und Bürger an die Stadt Wien, mit der sie nicht nur ihre Beschwerden zu kaputten Lampen und Müll melden können, sondern auch den Bearbeitungsstand nachverfolgen können. 

Als weiteres Digitalisierungsbeispiel der Stadt Wien präsentierte Dr. Ulrike Huemer den „Wien Bot“. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen Chatbot, der die Fragen der Bürgerinnen und Bürger an die Verwaltung beantwortet. Der "Wien Bot" nutzt Open Data und soll auch durch Künstliche Intelligenz weiterentwickelt werden. 

Bei der Podiumsdiskussion wurde kontrovers zum Thema „Öffentliche Daten: Lukrative Einnahmequelle oder unbezahlbares Gemeingut“ diskutiert. Dabei stand die Frage im Fokus, ob Daten aus der Verwaltung als offene Daten für alle frei verfügbar oder doch als Geschäftsmodel verkauft werden sollten.

Für Podiumsgast Nicolas Zimmer, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Technologiestiftung Berlin sind offene Daten aus der täglichen Arbeit nicht wegzudenken und Verwaltungen müssen ihre Daten der Allgemeinheit als Open Data frei zur Verfügung stellen.

Genauso wichtig sind frei verfügbare offene Daten für den Teamleiter von Door2Door Ulli Stroetz. So nutzt Door2Door eine Vielzahl an offenen Daten der Verwaltung, bearbeitet sie und stellt sie mit weiterer Nutzungsmöglichkeit der Allgemeinheit zur Verfügung. 

Einen anderen Standpunkt vertrat Alexander Handschuh, Sprecher politische Grundsatzfragen des Deutschen Städte- und Gemeindebundes. Nach dem Subsidiaritätsprinzip sollte jede Kommune selber entscheiden, ob und welche Daten sie veröffentlichen möchten.

Dr. Tobias Knobloch, Projektleiter „Algorithmen fürs Gemeinwohl“ der Stiftung Neue Verantwortung e. V. befürwortete hingegen ein Stufenmodell mit kostenfreien Daten und solchen Daten für die in der Tat für Qualität und Aktualität der Datenbereitstellung gezahlt werden soll.

Dr. Ulrike Huemer, CIO der Stadt Wien war der Meinung, dass alle Daten, die veröffentlicht werden können als offene Daten und kostenfrei der Allgemeinheit zur Verfügung gestellt werden sollen. Die Daten so aufzubereiten, dass sie als Geschäftsmodell vermarktet werden können mit einem Bezahlsystem und einem Abrechnungsmanagement ist zu teuer und auch zu aufwendig für die Verwaltung. 

Nach dem Mittagessen ging es weiter in vier parallelen Workshops zur Auswahl.

In einem Workshop, geleitet von dem Fraunhofer FOKUS Institut wurde das Frontend und Backend von Open Data- Portalen besprochen.

Dr. Benjamin Seibel von der Technologiestiftung Berlin stellte in seinem Workshop die neue App FixMyBerlin mit den Radzähldaten vor und diskutierte, wie mit Open Data die Verkehrswende gemeistert werden kann.

Walter Palmetshofer von der Open Knowledge Foundation und Christian Jacob von Stromnetz Berlin präsentierten die Energiedaten, welche auf dem EnergyHack den Hacker zur Verfügung gestellt werden. 

Über Künstliche Intelligenz, Blockchain und die Verknüpfung mit Open Data wurde in dem Workshop mit Accenture, der Stadt Wien und Berlin Partner diskutiert.

Bei Kaffee und Kuchen als letzten Programmpunkt hatten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer nach den Workshops nochmals die Möglichkeit, sich auszutauschen und für sich ein abschließendes Fazit zu einem Tag zu ziehen, der ganz im Zeichen von offenen Daten stand.

Sebastian Askar
Sebastian Askar

Leitung Digitalisierung, IKT-Wirtschaft und digitale Infrastruktur

Email

Bildergalerie